top of page

If you read a lot, does it make you an experienced person?

We all notice how people who read a lot seem to know everything. There is a logical explanation for that: reading gives you a lot of new information from the first hands, which you will not be able to learn otherwise; it develops memory and logical thinking; it gives you an opportunity to live millions of different lives following an imagined character.

However, can it all substitute actual living experience? Or is it just a waste of time, because people could create their own memories instead of spending hours in front of the book?

It is hard for me to judge here because for me reading is more like a pleasure than a practical thing. I have been reading since I can remember myself, so it is like an addiction, yet an innocent one. I believe that there is nothing wrong about loving to read and that fact does not necessarily mean that your life is empty and boring.

On the contrary, I believe that books and culture, which they bring into the world, make it a better place and enlighten our lives. Novels and poems accumulate human life experience and give you a sensation that you are not alone. Even if the world is sometimes cruel or unjust, you can escape all your troubles by just opening a book.

bottom of page